Boogie Monster

This weekend I contracted a horrible cold — which didn’t help during my long nights of partying with my cousin who was in town — and a lot of boogies that went along with it. I know I caught something from my best friend Morgan, who was also suffering from 24 hour nose blowing and sniffles. My medicine intake this weekend was off the charts, I probably popped a pill every hour to prevent even more sickness from coming. When complaining (which was normal for me), Morgan tried to lighten up the mood with a story from her childhood. It went like this:

“When I was younger, I used to get head colds a lot. I would blow my nose endlessly until sometimes my nose would start bleeding. I would check my tissues to see what color boogies I’d have because I knew that green ones were the worst. I never understood how green boogies came about, it was almost like someone tye-died the inside of my nose so that things came out of me funny colored. I convinced myself that there was a boy named the Boogie man. He would come into my room in the middle of the night with tiny, cut up, pieces of green construction paper. He would then put my clear boogies around the green paper and stuff it up my nose so that the next morning when I woke up, I’d have green boogies running down my cheeks. It freaked me out as a little girl, but now I know better than to believe that.”

Like I said, Morgan is my best friend. I love her for times like these, when she can turn a shitty situation into something to laugh about. What made it even funnier was that she had a wad of tissue hanging out of her nose as she spoke…..I guess the boogie man made a visit to room 623 last night.

 

 

Leave a Reply

